Clint Morey - Big Sky Writer
Tips from God
TIP "Overlook an Insult"
0:00
-4:58

TIP "Overlook an Insult"

Tips from God on how to live life well

Click the audio player above to listen to the podcast or read the transcript below.

Have you ever been insulted?

Ever?

Now I’m old, which means that I grew up without “safe spaces” to hide in. And one of the things that I’ve learned though my years on this journey through life is that insults come with being alive and being around people.

I’ve received my share of insults.

Sometimes the insults directed at me were unfortunately earned on my part. I did or said something that deserved to be censured or criticized.

But sometimes the insults seemed to be unjust and those are the ones that I’d like us to consider in this episode of “Tips from God” How to Live Life Well.

Sometimes I have been insulted to my face with other people around to hear the insult.

Sometimes I have been insulted behind my back and I only found out about it later. \

Sometimes I have been insulted online in chats and responses to posts.

Sometimes I just sensed that I had been insulted.

I Don’t Like Being Insulted

Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t like being insulted.

It hurts.

And when someone insults me, I want to get back at them. I want to insult them ten times worse than they insulted me. I want them to really, really hurt.

In fact, in my re ading when I ran across a quality nail-them-to-the-wall insult, I memorized it and just waited for an opportunity to use it against someone who dared to insult me.

I still have a couple of first-rate insults that have been waiting in my brain for over half a century for just the right moment to use against someone who would dare to insult me.

But this podcast is about how to live life well by following God’s teachings. And God actually has some things to say about how to deal with insults.

Dealing with Insults

If you are a living, breathing human being the odds are pretty good that you will have the opportunity to deal with insults.

The question is, how should you respond when you are insulted?

God gives some very specific instructions.

Almost 3,000 years ago God directed King Solomon to write the following proverb.

“Fools show their annoyance at once, but the prudent overlook an insult.”
Proverbs 12:16 (NIV)

Overlook an insult?

Seriously?

You mean, let someone get way with putting me down?

That’s not what I want to do.

But God doesn’t take advice from me on how to live life well.

Instead, He tells me what He wants me to do.

“Bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”
Luke 6:28 (NIV)

Bless them?

Pray for them?

You mean I can’t use those great insults that are hanging around in my head just waiting to be thrown at someone?

Bless?

Pray?

God’s instructions are really clear.

“Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult. On the contrary, repay evil with blessing …”
1 Peter 3:9 (NIV)

This is so different than what I want to do but it’s what God knows we should do if we want to live life well.

The teaching is very clear.

This week, as you seek to live life well, if you are insulted, bless and pray for the person who insults you.

Remember that God loves you and has given you very specific “tips” on how to live life well. If you’re brave, ask the Lord to give you opportunities to practice this teaching in the coming weeks.

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”
Psalm 119:105 (ESV)

Before I go I’d like to share a blessing with you from the Old Testament.

“May the Lord bless and protect you; may the Lord’s face radiate with joy because of you; may he be gracious to you, show you his favor, and give you his peace.”
Numbers 6:24-26 (The Living Bible)

Until next time … be the reason someone smiles today!

Clint

0 Comments
Clint Morey - Big Sky Writer
Tips from God
We only get one shot at this thing called life. Wouldn't it be nice if we had an instruction manual with tips on how to do it right?
Well, the fact is we do.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Clint Morey
Recent Episodes
3:50
  
2:57
2:40
3:47