Clint Morey - Big Sky Writer
Big Sky Writer
Are you ready?
2
0:00
-6:30

Are you ready?

Be the reason someone smiles today.
2

Thank you, Mark.

And thank you for dropping by to listen … or read, as the case may be.

I thought it might be interesting to look at some of the recent uses of artificial intelligence — not the capabilities and potential of AI but the actual uses of it in our lives today.

Graphics

You might have noticed that I’ve begun using a number of illustrations in my Substack articles. Often these are generated by one of the AI tools designed to create drawings.

I tend to use DALL-E or Copilot, but there are many such tools available today. I’m trying to be better about identifying when I use AI for these illustrations and which AI tool I used.

I’ll give you an example. I asked DALL-E to create an image of a robot creating a picture. This is what my AI tool gave me:

Image created by DALL-E.

Then I asked it to give me a humorous illustration of the same idea. And the result was:

Image created by DALL-E.

Such AI software is just tool. You have to learn how to ask it questions and make adjustments.

Sometimes it gives you great illustrations. Sometimes it gives you junk.

It’s just a tool, but I like it.

But artificial intelligence, AI, has many more uses.

And some of the uses can have a very negative impacts on our lives.

You’re Fired!

A high school principal at a struggling, mostly black school, was recorded on tape making anti-black comments in front of several administrators. That tape was released on the internet.

The response was immediate.

I think I forgot to mention the principal denied making the comments, but he was white.

Reporters descended on the principal’s home, clearly showing where he lived as they detailed the terrible things the principal said. TV newscasts interviewed several students at the school who said the principal should resign immediately.

The school district suspended him.

And then …

Months later, experts said they were 99% certain the audio was created by AI. The perpetrator was a teacher who the principal was investigating for inappropriate behavior.

The fake audio recording was the teacher’s solution to his problems.

Source: “We’ve Crossed The Rubicon. Race Hoaxers Are Now Using AI” by Matt Walsh, Daily Wire, 26 April 2024.

Who wrote that?

A well-known science fiction and fantasy magazine, Clarkesworld, has stopped accepting new story submissions because they are being overwhelmed AI written stories.

The magazine pays their authors and the editor-in-chief thinks that is why people are using AI to create sci-fi and fantasy stories and submitting them.

They are trying to figure out how to deal with this problem.

Source: “Science Fiction Magazine Stops Taking Submission Amid Flood of AI-Generated Stories” by Lucas Nolan on Breitbart, 4 May 2024.

Are you ready?

As we are going into a Presidential election, do you think AI will be used to create audio, video, or photos to destroy their opponents?

Will AI be used to threaten or destroy the lives of individuals in the workplace?

You need to get ready for this world we are heading into.

Just an update on my writing.

Many of the scripts I write have faith-based elements in them, which means there is little chance they will get picked up by the big Hollywood producers and studios.

But there are a growing number of smaller companies and independent producers looking for faith-based stories, and I have been submitting scripts to them.

Last year I entered a couple of my scripts in Faith in Film: International Film Festival and Screenwriting Competition. It’s a small competition designed to help writers who create faith-based scripts make connections with producers who want to make such films.

They have 1 Grand Prize winner, 2 Finalists, and 12 Semi-Finalists.

I wasn’t the overall winner, but one of my scripts, I’ve Had Better Days, was a semi-finalist in the contest and hopefully will lead to some contacts with producers. Another script, The Great Adventure, was one of the two Finalists. That will give me some interactions (notes and comments) and hopefully also lead to some useful contacts.

I would appreciate your prayers for the Lord’s help in seeing these words on paper turned into films.

Before I go, I’d like to share a blessing with you from the Old Testament.

“May the Lord bless and protect you; may the Lord’s face radiate with joy because of you; may he be gracious to you, show you his favor, and give you his peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26 (The Living Bible)

Until next time … be the reason someone smiles today

Discussion about this podcast

Clint Morey - Big Sky Writer
Big Sky Writer
Be the reason someone smiles today.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Clint Morey