Clint Morey - Big Sky Writer
Big Sky Writer
Two Roads
0:00
-5:18

Two Roads

Be the reason someone smiles today

Click the player above to listen to the podcast or read the transcript below.

Have you ever looked back and realized that one choice in your life changed everything?

I was in an American Literature class and one of the poems we studied was “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost. I was fascinated by the message Frost shared in that poem. It was about the choices we make in our lives.

I especially remember the final sentence of that poem.

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

From “The Road Not Taken” by Robert Frost.

Through the years, I have learned that life is filled with choices. And those choices can impact our futures.

In my own life, I can remember some of those key times where I made choices that would make a difference in my life. Should I go to college or go work? Which college should I go to — the University of Oregon and get a degree in Journalism or Biola College and get a degree in Christian Education?

Should I join the military during a time of war, or should I stay a civilian? Should I obey what I felt was an unjust order in a time of war, or should I refuse tp obey and risk the consequences?

After I came back to civilian life, I met a beautiful girl who loved the Lord. Should I marry that girl or keep looking? Trust me, that decision made a big difference in my life.

I could go on and on with choices I made that had an impact on my life.

And I’m sure you could share stories about the choices you have made that made a difference in your life.

It’s important to know that choices matter.

That’s probably one of the reasons I like Robert Frost’s poem.

The Most Important Choice

The idea of choosing a path isn’t new. Long before Frost penned his poem, Jesus spoke about life’s most important choice in a profound way.

Instead of two roads, as Frost presents in his poem, in the Sermon on the Mount Jesus shares the image of two gates. And unlike Frost’s poem where both roads looked equally pleasant, Jesus said the roads behind the gates he was talking about are very different.

Jesus teaches that each one of us must choose which one of those gates we will enter. He explains the importance that choice.

“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.”
Matthew 7:13-14 (ESV)

We can focus on many of the decisions we make in our lives.

What career should I pursue? Should I take that job? Should I marry that person? Should I join that group? Should I stand up and confront illegal or immoral actions in my workplace or should I ignore them?

To be sure, those are important decisions, but the most important decision for each one of us is: will I follow Jesus Christ or reject Him?

One of Jesus’ followers, Thomas, asked Jesus how he could know the way to live rightly before God.

Jesus’ answer made it very simple:

“… I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”
John 14:6 (ESV)

Jesus is not one of many ways to reach God. He is the only way.

I pray that each one of you has chosen to go through that narrow gate that leads to eternal life.

If you haven’t yet made that choice, I encourage you to make it today.

Choices are important.

Before I go, I’d like to share a blessing with you from the Old Testament.

“May the Lord bless and protect you; may the Lord’s face radiate with joy because of you; may he be gracious to you, show you his favor, and give you his peace.”

Numbers 6:24-26 (The Living Bible)

Until next time … be the reason someone smiles today

Discussion about this podcast

Clint Morey - Big Sky Writer
Big Sky Writer
Be the reason someone smiles today.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Clint Morey